Opening concert Friday 11th of October

Line up: Jasper Høiby – double bass - Ivo Neame – piano - Anton Eger – drums

We have the honor to start Mondriaan Jazz with Phronesis during the opening concert on Friday the 11th of October in het Koorenhuis. Danish double bass player Jasper Høiby, British pianist Ivo Neame and the Swedish drummer Anton Eger created a band that crafts innovative acoustic music that sounds clear and simple. Nevertheless, it is very ingenious. The band was formed ten years ago in London out of the Loop Collective; a platform for equally minded young musicians.

Phronesis conquers the international music scene with catchy themes, powerful compositions and provocative grooves. The compositions contain lots of rhythmic layers and ostinato patterns. Høiby and Eger constantly make sure the music is tight and pulsating. Eger is a resourceful drummer who can improvise like no one else. Ivo Neame likes to surprise the audience with enigmatic passages and loves to show you his Herbie Hancock approach of playing.

Their album Alive (2010) has been claimed to be the best jazz album of the year by renowned jazz magazines. The trio released their seventh album We Are All in September 2018 for Edition Records. This band is a wonderful addition to the Mondriaan Jazz Festival and cannot be missed!

One of the most exciting bands worldwide.” – Jazzwise

Look out for Phronesis. They might change your life” – BBC Radio 3

The Lesson GK (USA)

The Lesson GK Line up: Lenny ‘The Ox’ Reece (drums, electronics) - Jonathan Hoard (vox) – Phaseone (MC) - Julian Pollack (keys) - Christian Almiron (keys) - Dave Cutler (bass) Community. Magic. Church. These are just examples of words used by people who have experienced...

SEED Ensemble

SEED Ensemble Line up: Cassie Kinoshi (alto saxophone & composer) – Miguel Gorodi (trumpet) – Sheila Maurice-Grey (trumpet) – Chelsea Carmichael (tenor saxophone & flute) – Joe Bristow (trombone) – Theon Cross (tuba) – Deschanel Gordon (piano / Rhodes) – Shirley Tetteh (guitar) – Rio...

Nick Mazzarella Trio (USA)

Nick Mazzarella Trio Line up: Nick Mazzarella (alto saxophone) – Anton Hatwich (bass) – Frank Rosaly (drums) Saxophonist and composer Nick Mazzarella has been described as a person who "continues the approach taken by like minded-soloist such as Eric Dolphy, Ornette Coleman, Henry Threadgill, Oliver...


blackwave. Line up: Jean Atohoun (vox) – Willem Ardui (vox) – Jarno Verheyen (keys) – Bram Vanhove (drums) – David Idrisov (bass) – Dries Henderickx (guitar) – Egor Doubay (saxophone) – Luuk Hof (trumpet) Blackwave (Willem Ardui & Jaywalker) is a hip hop duo from...